Module 3: Curriculum Design – Planning, Instruction & Assessment

For this assessment, we were to work collaboratively on furthering our understanding of curriculum philosophy and concepts to include the planning, instruction and assessment.

I had the pleasure of working once again with Corinne Muir. You can view our prezi here: https://prezi.com/view/b18GAoHtXDWaPEegsmOX/ 

module 3 prezi

Note: I have long been inspired by the talks of Sir Ken Robinson in which he argues for a greater inclusion of creativity in education. It was for this reason I used this prezi format – the suggestion of paint splatter as a back drop to me served as a visual reminder that creativity does not have to be distinct from evidence, but that the two can co-exist. It is a concept I play with in my own classes, where I encourage creative projects that include evidence-based content.

Disclaimer: I was interested in the Prezi format spearheaded by my partner, Corinne for our last module, and so used this opportunity to create a prezi myself. I was able to add Corinne in as a collaborator so she could add and edit content, but any and all prezi mistakes are mine!

4 thoughts on “Module 3: Curriculum Design – Planning, Instruction & Assessment

  1. Hello Denise,
    Your prezi presentation was very well put together and I enjoyed how you grouped your concepts. I found myself agreeing whole heartedly with your points on the instruction within a student centered design. I have taken a few courses now within this PME program and have been made aware of the current shift to student centered learning and inquiry. I do not teach in a classroom and do not have a curriculum which has been developed that I must adhere to so at first as I was reading about this design concept it was very new to me, as I had gone through schooling in a bit more of a subject centered design. At first I questioned how students would effectively learn in a student centered design, thinking, if left to their own devices who knows if quality learning would take place; however the more I read and learned about this concept the more I came to understand it and I think that your points on the instruction of student centered learning hit the nail right on the head. Your points of activating prior knowledge, collaboration and autonomy and engagement are all factors to develop constructive thinking, which I have come to understand is the underlying goal of the student centered design.
    -Stephanie

  2. I really appreciated reading your note before even digging into your Prezi. It was a great way to set the mood for your presentation. It was a strong introduction into the Prezi by sharing descriptions, definitions and literature on curriculum. The use of visuals (arrows) was impactful and effective to show the shape of subject, learner and problem centered curriculum. (Linear, multi-input, inquiry) I think it is very important that you addressed “next steps” and made your own connections and insights on the designs. You would have a very different perspective from the college environment than I do has a Grade 5 teacher. What do you see in the students? Do you find that the students are more focused on content versus context? Are you ever worried that if students come from schools that learner centered, then they might not be prepared for the course work at a college level?

    • Thanks for your comment. You raise great questions too. One of the things I struggle with is convincing students to take an active role in their learning. There is definite preference for students in college to want me to tell them what they have to know (classic subject-based followed by content tests) and so I get pushback for my more applied, reflective, activity-based methods of teaching where there are often no specific answers, but where a solid academic grounding or subject-based theory is necessary (but only the starting point) for understanding.

      I’m not sure if this comes from a subject-centered high school experience – certainly the teachers my high school aged teens have are veering more towards problem centered instruction which is great. I think as educators we need to work on defining and understanding that there has to be a balance and that students need basic skills/theory/conceptual understanding in order to effectively engage in higher-order thinking.

Leave a Reply

