Module 2: Curriculum Philosophies & Design Planning

For this assignment, we were to work collaboratively to create a visual representation of the conceptions of curriculum and the underlying philosophical foundations, and to then extend that representations to include the three curricular designs discussed in this module.

After creating a visual to solidify my own understanding, I had the great fortune to work with Corrine Muir to further articulate the connections between the conceptions, philosophies, and designs, and to put them together in a collaborative Prezi.

Click on the below image  or click here to open.

module 2 prezi

(Word Press is not allowing me to embed the Prezi so this is my next best option. Please let me know if you have any issues opening it).

I look forward to any questions or comments you might have.

For the sake of making my own learning visible, the original visual I did around my own thinking is here. Both Corrine and I felt that perhaps Piktochart did not allow us to collaborate so well, nor did it allow for the connections to be made as easily. I include it here only to provide a learning pathway.

3 thoughts on “Module 2: Curriculum Philosophies & Design Planning

  1. Pingback: Module 3: Curriculum Design – Planning, Instruction & Assessment – Fire and Magic

  2. Great work Denise! The Prezi you put together with Corinne is easy to understand and I feel you did an excellent job of summarising the reading from Models 2. This is something my partner and I struggled with on our visual representation so kudos. I also really enjoyed reading through your Piktochart (part of me thinks it’s even better than the Prezi). Again, you were able to synthesise a lot of information into one easy to follow visual.

    One thing I’m wondering is whether you tend to follow one particular form of design in your professional context? If not, do you switch from one to another depending on the situation?

    • I switch. Often. Sometimes within the same class.

      This semester (fall 17) I am excited to be pioneering an active learning classroom design that allows for greater collaborative and hands on learning for students; however, I am always cognizant that many students value working independently and that some concepts need to be taught in more traditional ways so that students have the basics. This in turn (I believe) provides students with the depth and breadth to more effectively engage in constructivist activities that create and reinforce meaning for individual students.

      Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

